The Dale County Commission convened in regular session Monday, February 11, 2013. The following members were present: Mark Blankenship, Chairman; District One Commissioner Douglas M. Williamson; District Two Commissioner Steve McKinnon; District Three Commissioner Charles W. Gary; and District Four Commissioner James W. Strickland.

Chairman Blankenship called the meeting to order at 6:00 p. m. Commissioner McKinnon opened with the Pledge to Allegiance. Commissioner Strickland followed with prayer.

MINUTES – JANUARY 28, 2013 REGULAR SESSION

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 28, 2013 regular session meeting. Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

BOARD APPOINTMENTS

Commissioner Gary made a motion to approve the following Board appointments:

SE AL Regional Planning & Deve	Steve McKinnon	
E911 Board	Commission Appointee	Frank Moring
Dale County Water Authority	District 4 Representative	Eddy Parker
Dale County Water Authority	Member at Large	Bibb Hughes, Jr
Southern Alabama Regional Cou	Mark Blankenship	

Commissioner Strickland seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

<u>APPROVED – 2013-2014 MILLAGE RATES - # 2013-02-11-01</u>

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to set the Property Tax Millage Rates as follows:

2.5 Mills	0.0025
1.0 Mill	0.001
3.0 Mills	0.003
6.5 Mills	0.0065
7.0 Mills	0.007
3.5 Mills	0.0035
4.0 Mills	0.005
1.0 Mills	
3.0 Mills	0.003
0 Mills	(zero mills)
18.5 Mills	0.0185
	1.0 Mill 3.0 Mills 6.5 Mills 7.0 Mills 3.5 Mills 4.0 Mills 1.0 Mills 3.0 Mills 0 Mills

SCHOOL DISTRIC	ГS:				
Dale County	#1	4.0 Mills	0.005		
Dale County	#1	1.0 Mills			
Ozark City	#41	4.0 Mills	0.004		
Daleville	#63	3.0 Mills	0.005		
Daleville	#63	2.0 Mills			
Dothan	#60	4.0 Mills	0.005		
Dothan	#60	1.0 Mills			
Enterprise	#48	4.0 Mills	0.004		
MUNICIPALITIES:				TOTAL MILLS	
02 Ozark		21.0 Mills	0.021	Total 50.0 Mills	0.050
03 Ariton		8.0 Mills	0.008	Total 38.0 Mills	0.038
04 Clayhatch	ee	5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
05 Daleville		5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
06 Grimes		5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
07 Level Plai	ns	5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
08 Midland C	City	5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
09 Napier Fie	eld	5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
10 Newton		5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
11 Pinckard		7.0 Mills	0.007	Total 37.0 Mills	0.037
12 Dothan		5.0 Mills	0.005	Total 35.0 Mills	0.035
13 Enterprise		17.5 Mills	0.0175	Total 46.5 Mills	0.0465

Total Millage Collected in the County (no city limits) = 30 MILLS 0.030

Mr. Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

APPROVED – JOB DESCRIPTION – COMPLIANCE OFFICER - # 2013-02-11-02

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the job description for Compliance Officer as presented. Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All vote aye. Motion carried.

TRAVEL REQUESTS

Commissioner Gary made a motion to approve the following travel requests: Road & Bridge – Derek Brewer NACE 2013 Annual Meeting April 20-26, 2013 Des Moines, Iowa Commissioner McKinnon seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

MEMORANDUM OF WARRANTS

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to approve the memorandum of warrants. (Payroll check numbers 152964-153031, Payroll direct deposit numbers 8928-9019, and Accounts Payable check numbers 61774-61949). Commissioner McKinnon seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

11 February, 2013

<u>APPROVED – PHONE SYSTEM – GOVERNMENT BUILDING</u>

Commissioner Gary made a motion to authorize the purchase of a new Century Link Business PRI Circuit System phone system for the Government Building. Total cost of system is \$16,652.00 to be paid over 12 months. Commissioner McKinnon seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

APPROVED – LETTER OF INTENT TO SELL RSVP BUILDING - # 2013-02-11-03

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the letter to Dale County Realtors of the Commission's intent to sell the RSVP (old Health Department) Building. Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

<u>APPROVED – CHANGE IN COMMISSION MEETING TIMES</u>

Commissioner Gary made a motion to approve changing the Commission meeting time schedule as follows: Work Session – 4:30 p.m. and Regular Voting Session – 5:30 p.m. Commissioner Strickland seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

SPECIAL CALLED MEETING

Chairman Blankenship announced that there would be a Special Called Meeting on Friday, February 22, 2013 at 8:00 a.m. to deal with an Economic Development issue.

REPORTS & COMMENTS

Chief Deputy Tim McDonald thanked the Commission for their support during the hostage incident in Midland City. He stated that the outpouring of support, not only from the Commission, but also from the community at large, was almost unbelievable and the Sheriff's Office appreciated it.

Commissioner Strickland asked if the Revenue Commissioner had found ways to possibly alleviate some of the long lines in the tag department. There was also discussion about eliminating the \$2.00 mail fee on tag renewals to encourage the citizens to get their tag renewals by mail.

County Engineer Derek Brewer announced that County Road 49 and County Road 1 were closed due to flood damage from the recent rains.

ANNOUNCEMENT – NEXT REGULAR MEETING

Chairman Blankenship announced that the next regular meeting of the Dale County Commission would be Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:00 pm. There will be a work session beginning at 4:30 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT: CONFIRMATORY STATEMENT

Commissioner Gary made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

It is hereby ordered the foregoing documents, resolutions, etc., be duly confirmed and entered into the minutes of the Dale County Commission as its official actions.

Mark Blankenship, Commission Chairman

Douglas M. Williamson, Commissioner District # 1 Charles W. Gary, Commissioner District # 3

Steve McKinnon, Commissioner District # 2 James W. Strickland, Commissioner District # 4