The Dale County Commission convened in regular session Monday, August 26, 2013. The following members were present: Mark Blankenship, Chairman; District One Commissioner Douglas M. Williamson; District Two Commissioner Steve McKinnon; District Three Commissioner Charles W. Gary; and District Four Commissioner James W. Strickland.

Chairman Blankenship called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. Commissioner Strickland opened with the Pledge to Allegiance. Commissioner Gary followed with prayer.

## MINUTES – AUGUST 12, 2013 REGULAR SESSION

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the minutes of the August 12, 2013 regular session as presented with amendment. Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

# <u>APPROVED – EMPLOYMENT</u>

Commissioner Gary made a motion to approve the following employment requests:

Tony Williams Full-time Jailer Grade VI \$9.60/hr effective 08/12/13 Sheila Glaze Senior Citizen Programs Director Grade XI \$15.83/hr effective 08/27/13 Maintenance Technician \$9.41/hr Ina Johnson Grade VIII effective 08/27/13 Eugene Evans Bldg & Grounds Maint/Custodial Supervisor Grade X \$16.72/hr eff. 08/27/13

Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## <u>APPROVED – EMPLOYMENT PROMOTIONS/TRANSFERS</u>

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the following employment promotions/transfers:

James Boling - completed training – moved from Security Guard to Deputy Sheriff \$12.00/hr effective 07/20/13 Omar Elberhart – transferred from Jailer to Deputy Sheriff \$12.00/hr effective 08/01/13 Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## APPROVED – SOLICITATION OF BIDS FOR RESIDENTIAL SOLID WASTE COLLECTION

Commission Strickland made a motion to approve the solicitation of bids for Residential Solid Waste Collection. Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. Commissioners McKinnon, Gary and Strickland voted aye. Commissioner Williamson voted no. Motion carried.

# August 26, 2013

# APPROVED – SUPLUS PROPERTY

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the following vehicles as surplus property:

2005 Dodge R1500 Pickup	vin:	1D7HU18N35S182680
2001 Chevrolet Tahoe	vin:	1GNEK13T71R138179
1998 Ford Crown Victoria	vin:	2FAFP73W8WX167190

Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## MEMORANDUM OF WARRANTS

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to approve the memorandum of warrants. (Payroll check numbers 153863-153922, Payroll direct deposit numbers 10231-10328, and Accounts Payable check numbers 63763-63872). Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## <u>APPROVED – PILGRIM'S PRIDE STATE TAX ABATEMENT - # 2013-08-26-01</u>

Commission Gary made a motion to authorize the Chairman to sign the paperwork for the abatement of State taxes, with the exception of education taxes, for the Pilgrim's Pride expansion project. This abatement does not affect County taxes. Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## REPORTS/DISCUSSION

There were no reports. Commissioners Williamson extended thanks to the Road & Bridge Department on the work done on the County Road 231, which is being used as an alternate route while State Road 123 is being worked on. Commissioner Strickland noted that a number of dirt roads still need work.

## SPECIAL BUDGET WORK SESSION

Chairman Blankenship announced that there would be a Special Budget Work Session on Tuesday September 3, 2013 at 4:30 pm.

## ANNOUNCEMENT – NEXT REGULAR MEETING

Chairman Blankenship announced that the next regular meeting of the Dale County Commission would be Monday, September 9, 2013 at 5:30 pm. There will be a work session beginning at 4:30 p.m.

# ADJOURNMENT: CONFIRMATORY STATEMENT

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

It is hereby ordered the foregoing documents, resolutions, etc., be duly confirmed and entered into the minutes of the Dale County Commission as its official actions.

Mark Blankenship, Commission Chairman Douglas M. Williamson, Commissioner District # 1 Steve McKinnon, Commissioner District # 2 Charles W. Gary, Commissioner District # 3 James W. Strickland, Commissioner District # 4