

Dale County Commission

Commission Meeting Minutes – February 11, 2025

The Dale County Commission convened in a regular session Tuesday, February 11, 2025, the following members were present: Chairman Steve McKinnon; District One Commissioner Chris Carroll; Two Commissioner Donald O. Grantham; and District Three Commissioner Adam Enfinger. Absent: District Four Commissioner Frankie Wilson.

Chairman McKinnon called the meeting to order at 10:00_{am}. Commissioner Carroll opened with prayer. Commissioner Grantham followed with the Pledge of Allegiance.

APPROVED – AGENDA, MINUTES & MEMORANDUM OF WARRANTS

Commissioner Grantham made a motion to approve the agenda with the addition of #4appointment of deputy coroner.

Memorandum of Warrants:

- Accounts Payable Check Numbers: 101534 101698,
- Payroll Check Numbers: 155017 155019.
- Direct Deposit Check Numbers: 431501 431649.

Minutes: Commission Meeting of January 28, 2025.

Commissioner Carroll seconded the motion, all voted aye. Motion carried.

APPROVED - PERSONNEL

Commissioner Carroll made a motion to approve the following:

- Najua ReNee Bell Maintenance Custodian New Hire.
- Collin Hughs Sheriff Part-time Deputy New Hire.
- Cory Lomaneck Sheriff Office Deputy Transfer.
- Gabe Hall Sheriff Office Deputy Transfer.

•

Commissioner Enfinger seconded the motion, all voted aye. Motion carried.

APROVED – WIREGRASS AREA FOOD BANK BOARD APPT

Commissioner Grantham made a motion to approve Bonnie Crawford for a two-year board appointment for Wiregrass Area Food Bank, Inc.

Commissioner Enfinger seconded the motion, all voted aye. Motion carried.

APPROVED – DALE COUNTY PROPERTY TAX LEVY

Commissioner Carroll made a motion to approve the Dale County Property Tax Levy. Exhibit 1.

Commissioner Grantham seconded the motion, all voted aye. Motion carried.

APPROVED – DEPUTY CORONER APPOINTMENT

Commissioner Enfinger made a motion to approve the appointment of Kevin Rivera as Deputy Coroner.

Commissioner Grantham seconded the motion, all voted aye. Motion carried.

ANNOUNCEMENT – NEXT REGULAR MEETING

Chairman McKinnon announced that the next regular meeting of the Dale County Commission will be Tuesday, February 25, 2025, at 10:00am.

ADJOURNMENT: CONFIRMATORY STATEMENT

Commissioner Enfinger made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Carroll seconded the motion. All voted ave. Motion carried.

It is hereby ordered the foregoing documents, resolutions, etc., be duly confirmed and entered into the minutes of the Dale County Commission as its official actions.

Steve McKinnon, Ch

DALE COUNTY PROPERTY TAX LEVY

WHEREAS, Act 2014-433 requires that, at its first regular meeting in February 2025, the Dale County Commission shall levy the general and special ad valorem taxes for the county for the tax year which begins on October 1, 2024; and

WHEREAS, the tax levy established by the Dale County Commission shall include the rate or rates at which the taxes shall be assessed and collected and the purpose or purposes for each tax levied; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Act 2014-433, the general and special ad valorem tax levies, rates, and purposes established at the first regular meeting in February 2025 shall remain in place in all subsequent tax years until and unless altered by the Dale County Commission pursuant to a change in tax rate by general law.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED and ordered by the Dale County Commission that the following taxes are hereby levied at the rate or rates and for the purpose or purposes set out below, and shall be assessed and collected for the tax year beginning October 1, 2024; and for each subsequent tax year until and unless altered by the county commission pursuant to a change in tax rate by general law;

STATE:						
General Fund		2.5 Mills	0.0025			
Old Soldiers		1.0 Mills	0.001			
Schools		3.0 Mills	0.003			
TOTAL STATE		6.5 Mills	0.0065			
COLDITY						
COUNTY: General Fund		7.0 Mills	0.007			
Road & Bridge Fund		3.5 Mills	0.0035			
County Wide School		4.0 Mills	0.0035			
		1.0 Mills	0.004			
County Wide School		3.0 Mills	0.001			
Hospital Jail		0.5 Mills	0.0005			
TOTAL COUNTY		19.0 Mills	0.0005			
IOTAL COUNTY		19.0 Millis	0.019			
SCHOOL DISTRICTS:						
Dale County	#1	4.0 Mills	0.004			
Dale County	#1	1.0 Mills	0.001			
Ozark City	#41	4.0 Mills	0.004			
Daleville #63		3.0 Mills	0.003			
Daleville #63		2.0 Mills	0.002			
Dothan	#60	4.0 Mills	0.004			
Dothan	#60	1.0 Mills	0.001			
Enterprise	#48	4.0 Mills	0.004			
					Total Mills	
MUNICIPALITIES:		21.0 Mills		0.021	50.5	0.0505
02 Ozark		8.0 Mills		0.008	38.5	0.0385
03 Ariton		5.0 Mills		0.005	35.5	0.0355
04 Clayhatchee		5.0 Mills		0.005	35.5	0.0355
05 Daleville		5.0 Mills		0.005	35.5	0.0355
06 Grimes		5.0 Mills		0.005	35.5	0.0355
07 Level Plains				0.005	35.5	0.0355
08 Midland City		5.0 Mills 5.0 Mills		0.005	35.5	0.0355
09 Napier Field		5.0 Mills		0.005	35.5	0.0355
10 Newton				0.003	37.5	0.0375
11 Pinckard		7.0 Mills		0.007	35.5	0.0375
12 Dothan		5.0 Mills		0.003	47.0	0.0470
13 Enterprise		17.5 Mills		0.0175	47.0	0.0470

Total Millage Collected in the County (no city limits) = 30.5 MILLS

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED and ordered by the Dale County Commission that it does hereby certify this tax levy to the county tax assessing official by copy of this resolution, which levy includes the rate or rates of taxation and the purpose or purposes for which each tax is levied.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED and ordered by the Dale County Commission that, pursuant to Act 2014-433, this certification shall remain in full force and effect until and unless altered by the Dale County Commission pursuant to a change in tax rate by general law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Dale County Commission has caused this Resolution to be executed in its name and on its behalf by its Chairman on this the 11th day of February, 2025.

725

Steve McKinnon Chairman, Dale County Commission